India in Zimbabwe: A glance at the stats

first_imgIndia are now on Zimbabwean shores led by MS Dhoni for a brief limited-overs series starting with the first of three ODIs on June 11. Since, 1992, India have played 28 one-dayers in Zimbabwe, having won 20 and lost eight. (India resume international cricket with an eye on the future)2001: West Indies beat India in tri-series finalIndia had a brilliant run but were not able to go over the final hurdle of the Coca Cola Cup and lost to West Indies by 16 runs. Sachin Tendulkar had a brilliant series by starting with an unbeaten 70 against hosts Zimbabwe in Harare. Then Zaheer Khan with a brilliant bowling spell of 4-42 helped India win their second match against Zimbabwe. (Mahendra Singh Dhoni sidesteps captaincy debate ahead of Zimbabwe tour)Tendulkar again dazzled by scoring 81* and 122* in the third and fourth one-dayers respectively as India beat West Indies. But in the final, Tendulkar failed and so did India. (Sourav Ganguly raises questions on MS Dhoni’s future as India captain)2005: India lost tri-series final vs New ZealandIndia started the Videocon Cup by losing the first ODI to New Zealand by 51 runs at Bulawayo, but made a strong comeback in the second by clinching a convincing 161-run victory over Zimbabwe. Irfan Pathan finished with an impressive spell of 5-27 in that match. Mohammad Kaif scored an unbeaten 102 as India chased down New Zealand’s 279 in the third match.Then they made it three wins in a row with India beating Zimabawe by four wickets at Harare. In the final, Nathan Astle scored 115 as New Zealand beat India by six wickets.advertisement2010: India failed to reach final of tri-seriesIndia had a disappointing tri-series and couldn’t make it to the final. A second-string team led by Suresh Raina started on a losing note with Rohit Sharma’s maiden ODI ton going in vain as Zimababwe chased down 285 to beat India by six wickets. But India made a comeback in the second match against Sri Lanka with Rohit again slamming a hundred.After losing for the second time to the hosts, India were on the brink of elimination. In the subsequent match, India lost to Sri Lanka and were knocked out of the tri-series.   2013: India won series 5-0This time in a bilateral series, a second-string Indian team led by Virat Kohli didn’t disappoint. India whitewashed Zimababwe in a five-match ODI series. Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan scored centuries in the first two matches respectively, with legspinner Amit Mishra making a significant contribution in the remaining three one-dayers.Mishra finished with 18 wickets in the series, equaling the record for most number of wickets in a bilateral series.2015: India won series 3-0Indian team led by Ajinkya Rahane swept the series 3-0 and registered wins by four runs, 62 runs and 83 runs in three matches respectively. Kedar Jadhav scored his  maiden ODI hundred and Ambati Rayudu his second ODI ton in the series. Manish Pandey made a fluent half-century on his debut, while Stuart Binny topped the wickets tally with six scalps.last_img read more